29 March 2014

Three days with the Themed Entertainment Association - celebrating excellence in the creation of compelling places and experiences, April 3-5, 2014 at Disneyland Resort

Three essential days for the attractions industry

TEA president Christine Kerr
TEA Summit Day One:
Executive Master Class - April 3
Paradise Pier Hotel
TEA Summit Day Two:

Thea Case Studies Day - April 4
Paradise Pier Hotel
Thea Awards Gala - April 5

Disneyland Hotel Grand Ballroom

At the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim 

Tickets may be purchased 
for individual or multiple events at this link.

Hotel information is here.

Click here for Summit Day One program.
Click here for Thea Case Studies Day program.
Click here for detailed information on the 2014 Thea Award recipients.

The Themed Entertainment Association (TEA), the international, non-profit alliance for the makers of compelling places and experiences worldwide, presents the annual Thea Awards Gala and annual TEA industry Summit.

Roberta Perry
These events celebrate and document the best recent examples of Experience Design – for leisure, entertainment, and education – and look at where the visitor attractions industry is headed. They are also vital business networking gatherings.
11th Annual TEA Summit
Paradise Pier Hotel, Disneyland Resort
  • Summit Day One (April 3) Executive Master Class - a limited attendance event geared to top level executives, owners and operators. 
  • Thea Case Studies Day (April 4) is a larger, broader forum - open to the general membership and to students - that brings together the 2014 international Thea Award recipients to share the insight
    & issues critical to the success of their projects. Case Studies Day has developed into a key networking event, and a welcoming environment for TEA NextGen members.

Grand Ballroom, Disneyland Hotel
  • The Thea Awards Gala presented by AECOM on April 5 (open to the public) - is the culminating event: an elegant, black-tie dinner affair celebrating excellence in the industry. A Thea Award is a coveted honor. 

Patrick Roberge
Under the leadership of TEA president Christine Kerr of BaAM Productions, Roberta Perry of ETI and Pat MacKay of OnesandZeros are
Jennifer Nevin
Kathy Oliver
returning as the Summit chairs, and Patrick Roberge of Patrick Roberge Productions is returning as the Gala producer.

They are supported by TEA's new COO, Jennifer Nevin; TEA development director Kathy Oliver; and publicist Judith Rubin. This group will in turn be supported by an able and essential cadre of volunteers.

Essential support and resources are also provided by TEA sponsors. For more information on sponsorship, contact Kathy Oliver.
Garner Holt of Garner Holt Productions will receive the Buzz Price Thea Award for a Lifetime of Distinguished Achievements at the 2014 Thea Awards Gala, and will give the opening address on Summit Day Two.
About TEA
The TEA (Themed Entertainment Association) is an international nonprofit alliance founded in 1991 and based in Burbank, Calif. Some 1,000 TEA members represent roughly 8,000 creative specialists, from architects to designers, technical specialists to master planners, scenic fabricators to artists, and builders to feasibility analysts working in 30 US states and 40 different countries. TEA presents the annual Thea Awards and the TEA Summit and hosts the annual SATE Conference (Storytelling, Architecture, Technology, Experience). TEA also produces a variety of print and electronic publications, including the TEA/AECOM Theme Index, TEA Annual Directory and Thea Awards Program magazine. Visit www.teaconnect.org.

About the Thea Awards
The Thea Awards, presented by Economics at AECOM and Garner Holt Productions, were created by the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) to help realize a key mission of the association: bringing recognition to achievement, talent and personal excellence within the themed entertainment industry. From a modest beginning in 1994, the Thea Awards have become internationally recognized as a symbol of excellence. The public is welcome to attend the black-tie 20th Annual Thea Awards Gala, which will be held April 5, 2014 at the Disneyland Hotel, Disneyland Resort, Anaheim Calif. USA. Tickets may be ordered online at teaconnect.org. The name of the award is a play on three words: the first is "Thea," the Greek goddess from whom all light emanates. Thea was the mother of Helios (the sun), Eos (the dawn), and Selene (the moon). The second key word is "Theater," a word derived from the goddess Thea. The third word, of course, is TEA, for the Association.